#smh…

That moment when your daughter tells you a boy in class said something to her that you KNOW is offensive but you aren’t exactly sure what it means (but you want to know before you call the principal) so you look it up on the urban dictionary – because it will tell you what the kid really meant (not like the Webster dictionary that only has “safe for moms to read” definitions) and while on the site you decide to read the top 10 trending words (just so you know what is going on in the <not so sane> world) some of which you knew – and some that just make you wanna throw up – yeah…that moment. smh… — feeling sick.

I realize kids will be kids – but she says this kid talks to her in a vulgar manner all the time.  It is NOT ok that he talks with her about what “69” means!!  And it is NOT ok if he asks her if he can “corndog” her!!!  I feel violated – honestly – she is only 11! 

I realize she is going to hear things and I can’t protect her from everything.  But if this boy sits next to her everyday and is saying these kinds of things to her – shouldn’t I raise a stink?!  Some people think I’m over-reacting because she is MY daughter or because she is a girl.  My oldest son is 13…almost 14 – and I would be just as pissed if it was happening to him.  The honest difference is that it probably is happening all the time in his school but it is so prevalent that he just ignores it.  My daughter is bothered by this and complains that it bothers her and that the teachers just tell her to sit down… 

I’m so angry!  Over-reacting or not?!  Honest opinions welcome – I just need to hear others take on this….

12 thoughts on “#smh…

  1. You are not over reacting. If somebody says that to my daughter and I learn about it, I will hunt that kid and send a letter to his parents. That kind of talking needs to be nipped in the bud. Otherwise that kid will hurt more kids in the future. I know I can’t protect my kid forever but I will go the mile.

  2. Not overreacting! A call needs to be made and that needs to be addressed!!! The fact that the teacher is not addressing your daughters complaints really bothers me and that should be a HUGE focus. The sexual talk is making your daughter uncomfortable – which is the whole basis of sexual harassment – and the teacher is ignoring it?!?

    That’s my honest opinion! You are not over-reacting!!

    • That is how I feel too! I realize boys will be boys and all of that, and I realize that as she gets older she is going to hear things that I would rather she didn’t – BUT – the fact that a teacher is dismissing her is my main concern.

      Thanks for the feedback!

  3. You absolutely should address it. My daughter is 11 too, and I would be outraged if she told me this. I wouldn’t want to be talked to like that as a grown adult! Looking at it from the opposite perspective…if one of my boys said anything like that to a girl, I would be outraged as well!! It is very disrespectful! Go team mom:)

  4. Definitely not an overreaction! I’d say it’s cause to arrange a meeting where you can go meet with the principal with his parents present. They need to be aware of his behaviour, and he needs to be taught that what he is doing is called sexual harassment, and it’s not okay.

    If he’s old enough to throw those terms around, he’s old enough to have consequences for his actions.

    What concerns me though, is that he’s learning them from somewhere. Either his parents aren’t the best influences, or they aren’t monitoring his computer/television use, or it’s the influence of another friend.

    Time for him to learn that he’s sexually harassing her, there are consequences, and it is NEVER ok to talk to a female (or male) in that manner, no matter how old he is.

    • Thanks so much for the support – and you are so correct! Turns out one of the teachers was using the term because she thought it meant something quite different. I still think he meant something else. 😡

  5. Absolutely not an overreaction in the least.

    The boy is being rude, inappropriate, and most of all, ungentlemanly (even at that age). There’s a level of respect he should be showing in front of any fellow students, especially a girl, and he’s clearly not following it.

    When he opens his annoying mouth, he has to take responsibility for what comes out. If I were his parent, the kid would have a mouthful of soap followed up by a mouthful of celery (celery is so gross, it’s literally a punishment to me). This boy sounds like a mini version of those jerky frat guy d-bags, and if we can stop another one of them from happening, it’s practically a public service, haha.

    But as you said, immature kids are prone to this kind of stuff, so since the teacher should be in control, he/she needs to handle this kind of malarkey immediately before it gets out of hand and it starts to impact your daughter’s enjoyment of school moreso. You’re definitely in the right to be upset, and very much justified to approach the teacher (or even principal) with this.

Agree? Disagree? Comments? I'd like to hear it all!

