July 18th – National Caviar Day

600px-Caviar_spoons

Did you know…?

  • Caviar is defined as “processed salted roe of large fish (as sturgeon)” by the Merriam-Webster online dictionary.
  • The photo above is Salmon roe (left) and sturgeon caviar (right) served with mother of pearl caviar spoons to avoid tainting the taste of caviar. (Could it be any more “tainted” than it already is…smh)
  • “Caviar is made from the unfertilized eggs of female sturgeon and paddlefish, among the oldest and largest species of fish living on earth.” in World Wide Fund for Nature, Wildlife Trade – Caviar Trade FAQs.
  • The United States imports approximately sixty percent of the total world caviar supply.*
  • Caviar is full of proteins, vitamins, low in calories and thus is a complete meal by itself.* (Here’s the thing… I’m a Texas gal – and I’d rather have a steak, potatoes & salad over a billion baby Nemo’s any day!)
  • Oil, extracted from caviar is used on burns to heal them.* (Ok, I suppose… IF I was stranded on a deserted island AND I got burned AND all I had was some random jars of caviar laying around – I could possibly use it on the burn… but I’d sooner ‘eat’ the sand.)

I don’t know….maybe it’s because I love “Finding Nemo” and eating caviar would kind of make me feel like that mean fish that attacked his family at the beginning of the movie.  Maybe it’s because the way they look kind of remind me of the vision I had of spider eggs as a little girl.  Maybe it is a texture issue…OK! OK! It IS a texture issue….YUCK!!

MH900433824MH900433824MH900433824MH900433824MH900433824At any rate… Happy National Caviar Day to those of you that love the little eggies! 🙂

(The image above, which was originally posted to Flickr.com, was uploaded to Commons using Flickr upload bot on 16:41, 10 July 2010 (UTC) by Catfisheye (talk). On that date it was licensed under the following license: This file is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution 2.0 Generic license.)

* Facts pulled from: http://factspage.blogspot.com/2009/09/8-interesting-facts-about-caviar.html

8 thoughts on “July 18th – National Caviar Day

    • I am a huge fan of bizarre holildays – and mainly just like to find a reason to celebrate. 😉 So I’m going to throw a few ideas out there for other people to celebrate. I’m not personally a caviar fan, but there are people that love it! And if I found out today was National Chocolate Day – you can bet your booty I’d be celebrating!!

    • Sure thing! I’m loving finding different blogs that I can relate to or have something of interest I wouldn’t normally get to see or hear about. I am officially in love with the blogging world.

Agree? Disagree? Comments? I'd like to hear it all!

